Bowdoin 2008


GAA: .76 GpG: 3.38 MoV: 2.62

NCAA Champions

The 2008 Polar Bears jumped out of the gates with seven straight shutouts, putting together a 30-goal consecutive streak that was halted in a 3-1 victory over Amherst. Two more shutouts were followed by a 3-1 win over Conn, pushing the win streak to 11. A loss to Trinity broke the run, and after a win over Colby, Bowdoin lost to Tufts 4-3 to close out the regular season. A win over Bates started the NESCAC tournament, and Bowdoin shut out Middlebury and Tufts in succession to advance to the NCAAs as the #2 seed. The Polar Bears scored three in both of the regional games at home to advance to the semis, where they defeated Ursinus on the road 3-2. In the final against NESCAC-rival Tufts, Bowdoin won the rubber match 3-2 in double overtime to win a second consecutive NCAA championship. Julia King, Lindsay McNamara and Leah Ferenc earned All-American honors.

Back to the North Regional
Back to the main page