Wake Forest 2004


GAA: 1.26 GPG: 3.98 MOV: 2.91

NCAA Champions

The 2004 Demon Deacons opened with five straight wins, including the final three by shutout as they outscored opponents 26-3 in the run. A loss to Duke in overtime was followed by another five-game stretch before another overtime loss, this time to UNC, stopped the run. Wake won five more times to close out the regular season at 15-2. A win over UVa in ACCs was followed by another overtime loss to UNC. That meant that the Demon Deacons had lost three games heading into the tournament—as many games as they had lost in the last two seasons combined—but each of those losses was in overtime, meaning Wake Forest never trailed at the end of regulation in any game. The 16-3 Deacons were the number two seed after beating five NCAA-bound teams, including the other three seeds. Despite being sent on the road as the #2 seed, Wake outscored their opponents 11-3 in the opening two rounds before returning home for the semifinals and finals, where they scored six and didn’t allow a goal to win their third consecutive national championship. Kelly Dostal earned the Honda Award and ACC Player of the Year, with Claire Laubach, Lauren Crandall and Maeke Boreel also earning All-American honors.

Back to the North Regional
Back to the main page