Penn State 1980


GAA: .29 GPG: 3.08 MOV: 2.79

AIAW Champions

Behind a school-record 18 shutouts by Jeannie Fissinger, the 1980 Lady Lions won the national championship, outscoring their opponents 74-7 over the 24 games. All-American Candi Finn and future USA team member Brenda Stauffer led Penn State to a school-record 22 wins and the best winning percentage in the storied Lady Lion history. After a three-game win streak to open the season, a 1-1 tie with UConn halted the momentum. PSU then forged a seven-game run, winning six of those in a shutout, before a 1-1 tie with Ohio State stopped the streak. That game would be the last time the team would not win. The Lady Lions then put together an amazing run of ten consecutive shutouts, outscoring opponents 23-0, advancing to the AIAW semifinals. An overtime win over Delaware moved Penn State back into the finals, where they defeated California for the national championship.

Back to the West Regional
Back to the main page